Skip to main content

Press Releases

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 - 00:00

REGINALD FESSENDEN BROUGHT VOICE TO THE AIRWAVES—ONLY TO LOSE CONTROL OF HIS INVENTION

Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 00:00

The most transformative technologies have been those that changed the physical links that bind society together.

Thursday, July 23, 2020 - 00:00

Joseph Weizenbaum's early natural language processor offered a preview of artificially intelligent voice assistants such as Siri and Alexa. 

Wednesday, July 08, 2020 - 00:00

NASA's newest rover is finally on its way to the Red Planet, carrying with it a tribute to the world's medical professionals fighting COVID-19. 

Friday, June 26, 2020 - 00:00

As the U.S. expanded in the 1800s, Americans built some 10,000 covered bridges and refined timber-truss design to a degree never seen before.

Monday, June 22, 2020 - 00:00

Edison may have invented the light bulb, but Lewis Latimer helped bring it into the homes of millions. 

Saturday, June 20, 2020 - 00:00

After a century of innovation, millions of drones now take to the air and warfare is changed forever.

Friday, June 19, 2020 - 00:00

The Microsoft co-founder's ability to think creatively and solve difficult problems was important for a lot of the company's early success.

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 - 00:00
Monday, May 11, 2020 - 00:00

Initially meant for interior decoration, the plastic packaging material found a lasting use with the advent of consumer electronics

We hope you enjoyed this essay.

Please support this 70-year tradition of trusted historical writing and the volunteers that sustain it with a donation to American Heritage.

Donate

Stay informed - subscribe to our newsletter.
The subscriber's email address.